scroll to top of page

Covenant Health Office of Philanthropy

We believe everyone in our community deserves excellent healthcare. And, we believe you agree.

Covenant Health is a not-for-profit, community owned healthcare system committed to improving the quality of life in East Tennessee through better health. In partnership with our generous donors, Covenant’s 10,000+ employees, physicians and volunteers are providing the very best care for our patients and their families.

The Office of Philanthropy coordinates all philanthropic initiatives at Covenant through six foundations – Claiborne County Healthcare Foundation, Fort Sanders Foundation, Methodist Medical Center Foundation, Dr. Robert F. Thomas Foundation, Thompson Cancer Survival Center Foundation, and Morristown-Hamblen Hospital Foundation. The fund raising efforts of these foundations support the system’s acute care hospitals, as well as its outpatient facilities, specialized cancer and rehabilitation centers, behavioral health organization, and hospice/home health services.

As the health system has grown, so have our philanthropic efforts. The first organized fund raising efforts began in the mid-1970s with a campaign to establish the Patricia Neal Rehabilitation Center. In the years since, thousands of generous individuals and businesses have contributed millions of charitable dollars to support new programs, education, technologies, and capital improvements at many of Covenant’s member organizations.

You have an opportunity to make an impact on the future of healthcare in East Tennessee…for your family, for your neighbors, and for people you will never know. Please contact us to learn how you can help.

Covenant Health Leadership Academy Class

2020 Covenant Health Leadership Academy

Members of the 2020 Covenant Answers: A Healthcare Leadership Academy visited several Covenant hospitals and spent time with the organization’s leaders and clinicians to learn how Covenant is meeting the challenges and fulfilling the philanthropic mission of non-for-profit healthcare.

2020 Covenant Health Leadership Academy Class:

  • Tony R. Aikens
  • Christian Corts
  • James (Jim) Gibson
  • Edgar S. Gray
  • Leslye Tate Hartsell
  • Gwendolyn “Gwen” McKenzie (not pictured) 
  • Phyllis Y. Nichols
  • Cosby Stone
  • Dr. Jama Spicer-Sutton
  • George Wallace (not pictured)